Part of the
Kenno's Blog series.
By Ken Brown
Editor, You Can Learn Series
Updated: November 24, 2007
Do you analyze your Adsense
reports to make your business, website or blog more profitable? Where do your
customers land? Which channel is the most profitable? Should you concentrate
more attention on one channel over another channel? This article will lead you
to create channels if you haven't already and then to analyze the Adsense
reports more thoroughly to make sure you are getting the most revenue you can.
If you have wandered around my website at any length you have seen all the
different subjects I write about. I have written articles on
landscaping and gardening,
good health and even building a
web business. So, when I look at my Adsense reports I want to
know what section of my website is bringing in the most visitors. But, I also
want to know which articles produce the most revenue for me.
Adsense makes it real easy to track revenue from the different sections of your
website. All you need to do is create a channel for each section. How do you
create a channel? When you are in Adsense you click on manage channels link.
From there you can choose custom channels or choose URL channels. I have chosen
URL channels because it makes sense for my business. Then just click on the Add
new URL channels link and pick a URL from your website.
For my website this is easy because I have not concentrated on one niche
market. I just place a channel on each one of my different sections. When I
analyze my Adsense revenue I take a look at each channel revenue figures.
When analyzing your numbers from Google you need to concentrate on a couple of
factors. One is Page Impressions. How many pages have been viewed by visitors
to your website? The next column is the clicks. This is really important
because if your visitors don't click something then you don't make any money.
Page CTR represents the click through rate. If you get 1,000 visitors and 10 of
those visitors click on an Adsense ad, then you have a click through rate of
1%. That would be 10 divided by 1000. Then comes Page eCPM.
Google defines Page eCPM as:
" From a publisher's perspective, the effective cost-per-thousand impressions
(eCPM) is a useful way to compare revenue across different channels and
advertising programs. It is calculated by dividing total earnings by the number
of impressions in thousands. For example, if a publisher earned $180 from
45,000 impressions, the eCPM would equal $180/45, or $4.00. However, please
keep in mind that eCPM is a reporting feature that does not represent the
actual amount paid to a publisher. "
Then finally comes the Earnings column. This is the payoff to you from the
advertising occurring on your webpages.
Then you need to do a simple report that highlights only the channels. Why
would you want to highlight only the channels? You want to determine which
channel is producing the most revenue for you. In my example, I analyze each of
the different areas of interest. Now here I can see which channel is pulling in
traffic and revenue.